jump to navigation

Qualifying Statements August 2, 2007

Posted by Tariq Ahmed in Leadership.
trackback

Another pet peeve of mine is employees who have to qualify every statement that comes out of their mouths.

E.g.

“I think we have enough Storm troopers to take this planet”
“I’m not sure, but I think the rebel base is on Hoth”
“The last time I checked…”
“I believe…”
“I’m not an expert in…but…”
“I could be wrong…but…”

All of these qualifying statements are meant to protect the employee incase they are wrong. Qualifying statements are fine if you really mean them for things your not sure about. But when you’re “not sure” about everything it screams incompetence and a lack of self-confidence.

Have confidence in your beliefs, and others will have confidence in you.

darthvader.jpg

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

